Login »

Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM)

The Swedish Radiation Safety Authority is a managing authority under the Ministry of the Environment since 1 July 2008, with national collective responsibility within the areas of radiation protection and nuclear safety.
The authority, took over the responsibility and tasks from the Swedish Radiation Protection Institute and the Swedish Nuclear Power Inspectorate when these ceased to exist on 30 June 2008, works towards protecting people and the environment from the harmful effects of radiation, now and in the future. The task of protecting covers both you as a private person and as a professional.
Parliament and the government decide on the assignments and budget of the Swedish Radiation Safety Authority, but like other authorities, we make decisions independently on individual matters.
The Swedish Radiation Safety Authority has a budget of about 400 million Swedish Kronor a year. The work is financed by tax funds and fees.
The authority is led by the Director-General, Ann-Louise Eksborgs, who has been appointed by the government. There are 250 employees with a broad and varied range of competencies. Technicians, engineers, physicists, biologists, social scientists, information officers, chemists and lawyers work here.
Read more »


The Nordic PSA Group (NPSAG) »
Forsmark NPP (FKA) »
Hanhikivi NPP (Fennovoima) »
Olkiluoto NPP (TVO) »
Oskarshamn NPP (OKG) »
Ringhals NPP (RAB) »
Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK) »
Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Company (SKB) »
Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM) »
Other links »
Contact NPSAG »