Login »

Oskarshamn NPP (OKG)

OKG was founded in 1965 and is owned by the Uniper group and the Fortum group and three of Sweden's nuclear power reactors are located in Oskarshamn. These three reactors have a combined installed gross power output of 2,603 MW and at maximum power the reactors account for circa ten per cent of the electricity generation in Sweden.

However, a decision on premature shutdown of units O1 and O2 was made in 2015. The decision entails that there will be no future investments at unit O2 and the reactor will not be restarted. On 17 June 2017, unit O1 delivered its final kilowatt hours of electricity.

Despite the decision on shutdown, OKG is still one of the major suppliers of base load to the Nordic power supply system. Unit O3 is with the installed capacity of 1,450 MW one of the largest boiling water reactors in the world.  
The plant is located on the Swedish east coast, 30 km north of Oskarshamn. Oskarshamn 1, also Sweden’s first commercial nuclear power unit, was commissioned in 1972. Oskarshamn 2 started operation in 1974 and Oskarshamn 3 has been in commercial operation since 1985. Oskarshamn 3 is shut down every year for three to six weeks of maintenance, control of safety systems and replacement of 20 per cent of the fuel elements. These planned outages normally occur between May and September.
The village of Simpevarp is situated at the centre of the industrial site. Some of the 18th century houses in the village have been reverentially restored by OKG. The buildings and houses are now used as accommodation for visitors, for conferences, for education, company health care and information purposes.

Read more »


The Nordic PSA Group (NPSAG) »
Forsmark NPP (FKA) »
Hanhikivi NPP (Fennovoima) »
Olkiluoto NPP (TVO) »
Oskarshamn NPP (OKG) »
Ringhals NPP (RAB) »
Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK) »
Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Company (SKB) »
Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM) »
Other links »
Contact NPSAG »